Lecithin Granules & Capsules

Filter by:
  • of 6 products
Filter by:

    What is lecithin?

    Lecithin is a fatty substance that is used both in food production and as a dietary supplement.

    It occurs naturally in animal and plant tissues, and can be used for smoothing food textures, emulsifying, and for preventing things from sticking (i.e. in non-stick cooking sprays).

    You will commonly find lecithin as an additive in ice cream and other dairy products, as well as in infant formulas, breads, and margarine.

    Why is lecithin used as a supplement?

    The main reason lecithin is used as a supplement is because it is a source of choline.

    Choline is an essential nutrient for humans (and for many other animals as well).

    However, we do not produce enough of it on our own, so we have to get it from our diet.

    It is a key component of cell membranes and other cell components.

    Lecithin can be found in a range of foods, particularly in soybeans and egg yolks.

    How does the body use lecithin?

    Lecithin is broken down by the body to choline which in turn contributes to normal lipid metabolism.

    In order to cater to vegans, a lot of lecithin supplement products use soy lecithin.

    High cholesterol is typically caused by eating too many fatty foods, not exercising, smoking, or drinking too much alcohol. It can also run in families.

    That means that, conversely, some of the key methods for lowering high cholesterol levels are maintaining a consistently well-balanced diet, avoiding smoking, too much alcohol and of course getting regular exercise.

    Foods that you should eat more of to maintain healthy dietary fats include oily fish such as mackerel and salmon, brown rice, nuts and seeds, and of course, fruits and vegetables.

    By the same token, you should avoid meat pies, sausages, fatty meat, butter, cream, and hard cheese such as cheddar, and cakes and biscuits.

    For exercise, aim for at least 150 minutes total per week. Choose the things you enjoy, such as walking, dancing, swimming, or bike riding. Exercise doesn’t have to be a chore.

    What kinds of lecithin supplements are there?

    You can get extra lecithin through supplements in the form of both capsules and granules.

    We provide Holland & Barrett Ultra Soya Lecithin 1200mg 100 Softgel Capsules for example, which are derived from soy and therefore suitable for vegans.

    Take one to three capsules daily, preferably with meals.

    You can also get granules through the product, Optima Healthcare Lecithin 250g.

    These are ideal for those following a calorie-controlled, low fat diet, and they are produced from non-genetically-modified soya beans.

    Soya granules can be used as an economic, vegan meat-substitute in recipes such as meat balls, spaghetti bolognaise, lasagne, stir fries, burgers, Indian recipes, and more.

    Stored in an air-tight container, this product will keep for up to 12 months.

    And to cook, just soak in water for a few minutes and then drain.

    Lecithin describes a combination of naturally occurring phospholipids which are extracted during the processing of soybean oil. Lecithin is present in every cell within the human body in the form of cell membranes. Our Lecithin comes in capsules and powder or granule form with some products suitable for vegetarians and vegans.